Our Team

SJC leadership is elected every two years. The Secretariat is responsible for the organisation’s overall political direction

An Annual General Meeting is held every year where members formally adopt the SJC’s priorities through branch commissions, discussions, and resolutions. The Executive Council, effectively the highest decision making body after AGMs, is made up of the elected leadership of all branches and provides strategic leadership and guidance throughout the year.

Every two years there is an elective AGM where the SJC’s Secretariat is elected. The General Secretary is the head of the organization and the General Secretary’s office coordinates all day-to-day work of the SJC, providing overall management of governance, programmes, operations and political education. The Operations Department manages our human resources, finance, and administration.

The Local Government Programme leads our organising for the rights of informal settlement residents to dignity, equality, and justice. The Safety and Justice Programme leads our campaigns to ensure all people have access to a democratic and effective police and criminal justice system.

Khadija Bawa


Justin Jaftha


Axolile Notywala

General Secretary

Wiseman Mpepo


Sisanda Makumsha

Deputy Chairperson

Andrew Ardington


Mandisa Dyantyi

Deputy General Secretary

Siham Surve

Operations Manager

Thabo Gumede

Finance & Office Administrator

Nandipha Qegu

Office keeper

Ntebaleng Morake

Education Co-ordinator

Bonga Zamisa

Political Educator

Zingisa Mrwebi


Nosiphelele Msesiwe


Musa Gwebani

Co-head of Programmes

Dalli Weyers

Co-head of programmes

Ntuthuzelo Vika

Branch Support officer

Thozama Mngcongo

Programme Administrator

Thando Mhlanga

Social audit network coordinator

Zukiswa Qezo

Provincial Organiser

Nontando Mhlabeni


Xoliswa Mbadlisa